• (800) 463-6362
  • À PROPOS DE NOUS
  • ACHETER UN RAPPORT DE CRÉDIT EN LIGNE

Vous trouverez-ci-dessous des réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées. Vous pouvez trouver de l’assistance supplémentaire à la section Ressources.

FAQ par sujet

Rapports D&B
Comment puis-je obtenir un exemplaire de mon rapport de crédit D&B?
Les propriétaires d’entreprises et les membres de la direction peuvent accéder à un exemplaire de leur rapport d’entreprise D&B en communiquant avec le service à la clientèle de D&B au (800) 463-6362 ou par courriel à CustomerCareCan@dnb.com, du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 19 h, heure de l’Est.
Comment puis-je obtenir un numéro D-U-N-S® ou une inscription d’entreprise avec D&B?
Les propriétaires d’entreprises et les membres de la direction peuvent obtenir leur numéro D-U-N-S® en recherchant leur entreprise sur notre page d’accueil à l’option Rechercher une entreprise. Si la raison sociale de votre entreprise apparaît à la page Résultats de la recherche, vous avez déjà un numéro D-U-N-S® et pouvez nous envoyer un courriel à CustomerCareCan@dnb.com ou nous téléphoner au (800) 463-6362, du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 19 h, heure de l’Est, afin de l’obtenir. Si votre entreprise n’apparaît pas sur la liste, vous pouvez vous inscrire afin d’obtenir un numéro DUNS en accédant à Gestion de mon crédit sur le www.dnbexpress.ca.
Certaines informations dans mon rapport de crédit D&B sont inexactes. Comment puis-je faire pour les corriger?
Les mises à jours et les corrections peuvent être expédiées par courriel au service à la clientèle de D&B à CustomerCareCan@dnb.com ou en communiquant avec nous au (800) 463-6362, du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 19 h, heure de l’Est.
Que signifie mon évaluation?
Cliquez ici pour une description et les définitions des évaluations de D&B.
Un enregistrement public réglé ou de non-lieu apparaît dans mon rapport. Comment puis-je le faire retirer?
Les mises à jour et les corrections peuvent être expédiées à D&B par courriel à CustomerCareCan@dnb.com ou en communiquant avec nous au (800) 463-6362, du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 19 h, heure de l’Est. Si l’enregistrement public est réglé ou de non-lieu, veuillez expédier les documents pertinents du tribunal à CustomerCareCan@dnb.com.
Quelqu’un rapporte que notre entreprise règle ses factures en retard. Comment puis-je savoir qui est cette personne?

D&B communique le nom des personnes dans ses sources de données seulement lorsqu’il y a consentement préalable de ces personnes. Le fournisseur se réserve le droit de ne pas s’identifier pour plusieurs raisons. En voici quelques-unes :

  • afin de protéger l’identité de vos fournisseurs face à vos concurrents;
  • afin de protéger l’identité de leurs clients face à leurs concurrents;
  • afin de s’assurer que D&B ne profite pas de l’utilisation de leur marque.

Selon le secteur d’industrie et les montants rapportés, il est habituellement possible de déterminer lesquels de vos fournisseurs nous ont fourni l’information en question. Vous pouvez accéder à un exemplaire de votre rapport en communiquant avec nous au (800) 463-6362 ou en nous faisant parvenir un courriel à CustomerCareCan@dnb.com du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 19 h, heure de l’Est.

Comment puis-je contester une expérience crédit dans mon rapport?

Les expériences crédit reflètent la façon dont les entreprises règlent leurs factures relativement aux conditions accordées. Dans certains cas, les factures réglées au-delà des conditions accordées peuvent être le résultat de litiges quant à la marchandise, aux factures sautées, etc.

D&B rapporte les expériences crédit exactement de la manière reçue de la source de données. Si vous êtes d’avis qu’une expérience crédit n’est pas rapportée avec exactitude, il est possible d’effectuer une demande d’investigation en communiquant avec le service à la clientèle de D&B au (800) 463-6362 ou par courriel à CustomerCareCan@dnb.com.

Quelle est la source de données de D&B? Ces données sont-elles exactes?
DUNSRight est le processus de qualité des données qui vous permet d’obtenir les données les plus exactes et complètes. En savoir plus sur la qualité des données de D&B.
Où puis-je trouver des spécimens de rapports?
Des spécimens de la plupart de nos produits sont en ligne sur le www.dnbexpress.ca. Lors d’une recherche d’entreprise, vous accéderez à une liste de spécimens de rapports.
Quel est le but de ces rapports? Comment les utilise-t-on?
  1. Les rapports d’information commerciale s’utilisent principalement comme outils de crédit commercial. Les propriétaires et gestionnaires d’entreprises y accèdent afin d’obtenir de l’information dont ils ont besoin afin de déterminer, selon une certitude raisonnable, s’ils obtiendront le paiement des entreprises avec lesquelles ils se proposent de transiger. Les entreprises prudentes ne risquent pas d’expédier des marchandises, de fournir des services ou d’octroyer du crédit sans une telle certitude. Les Rapports d’information commerciale s’utilisent également dans le domaine du marketing pour l’évaluation de prospects quant au potentiel de ventes; pour l’approvisionnement afin de s’assurer que les fournisseurs sont bien établis, solvables et en mesure de livrer les biens et services selon les conditions; et en matière d’assurance pour l’historique de réclamations, l’évaluation des risques et l’établissement d’évaluations réalistes.
  2. Les entreprises ne peuvent se permettre de transiger sur des promesses de paiements ou de livraisons futures sans un certain niveau de certitude de bonne réputation de leurs clients.
Qui utilise l’information contenue dans ces rapports?

Les manufacturiers, les grossistes, les détaillants, les petites et grandes entreprises et les services professionnels. En fait, presque toute organisation dont la croissance et les bénéfices pour de solides relations d’affaires comptent sur les rapports d’information de D&B. Voici quelques exemples courants :

  • Un fournisseur a reçu votre première commande de biens ou de services dont vous avez besoin afin de fabriquer et vendre votre produit. Un coup d’œil rapide sur votre rapport D&B et le fournisseur peut donner le feu vert au service d’expédition. Sans cette référence de D&B, vous pourriez attendre des semaines avant que votre commande arrive, pendant que le fournisseur vérifie les dossiers bancaires, les expériences crédit et fait des demandes à votre sujet auprès de l’industrie.
  • Vous pouvez téléphoner à la banque afin de prendre un rendez-vous pour discuter d’un prêt. Le responsable des prêts examine votre rapport D&B et peut analyser immédiatement les besoins et les progrès de votre entreprise, avant même que vous arriviez. La même démarche s’applique lorsque vous avez besoin d’une police d’assurance, de financement ou de conditions de location pour du matériel; ou même une carte de crédit d’entreprise.
  • Vous faites affaire avec le même fournisseur depuis des années. Soudainement, une expansion ou un travail particulier exige le double ou le triple de la taille de votre commande. Une situation inhabituelle aux yeux de votre fournisseur — mais un coup d’œil à votre Rapport d’information commerciale D&B et la certitude est là : vous pouvez faire face à cette augmentation et peut-être même vous qualifier pour un escompte de volume.
Que signifient les évaluations 1, 2, 3 ou 4?
Après avoir lu et analysé l’information contenue dans le Rapport d’information commerciale, particulièrement l’information sur les états financiers, l’évaluation est émise par un analyste d’affaires de D&B. L’évaluation se divise en deux parties : une lettre indique la force financière estimée (habituellement la valeur corporelle nette), et le symbole numérique indique l’évaluation générale du crédit — du niveau élevé de 1 au niveau limité de 4. L’évaluation générale du crédit intègre la manière selon laquelle l’entreprise respecte ses obligations, sa situation financière, sa structure juridique, l’identification claire des propriétaires, l’expérience de la direction, les paiements et autres facteurs.
Quel type d’information trouve-t-on dans un rapport D&B?

D&B met à jour des rapports sur des centaines de milliers d’entreprises, et contiennent les faits les plus souvent requis lors d’une grande variété de décisions d’affaires. Le rapport constitue une analyse d’un établissement commercial.

  • Numéro D-U-N-S® : D-U-N-S signifie Data Universal Numbering System ou Système de numérotation universel de données en français, et est reconnu partout dans le monde. Ce code unique à neuf chiffres permet d’identifier la raison sociale et l’emplacement d’une entreprise.
  • Sommaire : analyse concise et rapide de l’information détaillée contenue dans le rapport. Cette analyse comprend le code de classification industrielle standard (CIS), la fonction, le domaine d’exploitation, le dirigeant principal, l’évaluation D&B du capital et du crédit, le chiffre d’affaires, la valeur, les paiements, la taille du personnel, l’historique, le financement, la situation financière et les tendances.
  • Paiements : le dossier des paiements, le crédit maximum, les montants dus, les montants en retard (le cas échéant), les conditions de vente et la période écoulée depuis la dernière vente.
  • Finances : l’état de l’actif et du passif, le chiffre d’affaires, les charges d’exploitation et les bénéfices, ainsi que l’explication nécessaire et une description des tendances des ventes et des bénéfices (lorsque fournies).
  • Historique : Noms, expérience des dirigeants ou propriétaires et la structure juridique de l’entreprise
  • Opérations: Description de l’entreprise, de ses lieux, produits ou services, classification des clients, pourcentage des ventes au comptant et à crédit, nombre de comptes, aspects saisonniers, taille du personnel et nom de la banque
  • Événements particuliers : tout changement récent de chef de la direction, de structure juridique, de partenaires, de contrôle, d’emplacement et de tout incident de cessation des activités.
  • Enregistrements publics : permettent d’identifier tout enregistrement public, notamment les poursuites, les jugements et les mises à jour et diffusions d’enregistrements.
  • Évaluation D&B du capital et du crédit : indicateur de la force financière estimée et de l’évaluation générale du crédit
D&B possède-t-elle des renseignements bancaires?
La plupart de nos rapports offrent des renseignements bancaires généraux, notamment le nom des banques, leur adresse et leurs numéros de téléphone.
Pourquoi D&B ne possède-t-elle pas plus d’états financiers dans ses rapports?

Les seules entreprises auxquelles il est demandé de fournir des états financiers sont les sociétés publiques et sans but lucratif. La plupart des entreprises dans notre base de données sont privées. Le travail des analystes d’affaires consiste à démontrer les avantages de fournir de l’information à D&B. En fait, D&B est la seule entreprise qui fournit avec succès des états financiers sur les entreprises privées.

Les entreprises publiques dans notre base de données comportent des états financiers à jour. Nos responsables de la cueillette de données demandent à toutes les organisations privées de leur fournir leurs résultats financiers lors d’entrevues.

Comment D&B peut-elle vérifier si les dirigeants donnent les renseignements exacts? Une entreprise peut-elle inventer ses chiffres?

La véracité des renseignements financiers pris comme investigation régulière au nom d’un abonné est vérifiée par :

  • la confirmation que la firme comptable est une firme légitime enregistrée auprès de l’organisme d’enregistrement approprié
  • la certitude que le rapprochement de la valeur nette est complété
  • la confirmation de la validation VGER des ventes aux employés
  • la certitude que les évaluations attribuées suivent les règles d’évaluation
Combien de temps les enregistrements publics et les renseignements sur les faillites apparaissent-ils dans le rapport?

Les faillites commerciales (faillites, propositions, mises sous séquestre, etc.) sont conservées durant sept ans. Ceci signifie que l’entreprise aura un enregistrement d’entreprise ou de la direction jusqu’à la fin des sept années.

Les articles d’ordre juridique (poursuites, privilèges, jugements, etc.) resteront dans le rapport indéfiniment ou jusqu’à ce que nous recevions un avis de résolution (règlement, non-lieu, cessation, etc.). Les détails de la résolution pourraient provenir de la défenderesse, de la demanderesse ou directement du tribunal. Les détails de la résolution sont conservés durant une année.

Sur le Rapport d’information commerciale, quelle est la différence entre la date de la dernière révision complète et la date de la mise à jour la plus récente?
La dernière révision complète est la date à laquelle une révision complète (les entrevues comprises) du rapport a été menée. La date de mise à jour la plus récente est la date à laquelle les articles d’enregistrements publics ou les nouvelles expériences crédit ont été ajoutées au rapport. La mise à jour la plus récente peut aussi signifier qu’une entrevue a été réalisée entre les mises à jour annuelles régulières.

Solutions de données
Comment D&B obtient-elle ses données?

Nous obtenons nos données auprès d’entreprises impartiales et du gouvernement. Ensuite, nous ajoutons de l’information de millions d’entrevues avec les propriétaires et les dirigeants d’entreprises. Voici quelques-unes de nos sources :

  • les faillites d’entreprises sont tirées d’Industries Canada par les flux de données hebdomadaires
  • les poursuites, les privilèges et les ententes de contrats de sûretés mobilières s’obtiennent directement à partir des tribunaux provinciaux et locaux
  • des millions d’expériences crédit (renseignements sur les paiements) nous disent comment les entreprises règlent leurs factures
  • les journaux, les publications, les services de nouvelles électroniques et Internet

Nous avons jusqu’à 1 500 éléments de données sur n’importe quelle entreprise, ce qui vous donne une image plus complète. D&B est également le seul fournisseur d’information commerciale mondiale qui recueille des états financiers sur les entreprises publiques et privées.

Que fait D&B avec les données qu’elle recueille?

Avant de saisir l’information dans notre base de données, elle doit passer par un certain nombre de vérifications de la qualité. En fait, il y a actuellement plus de 2 000 validations dans notre système personnalisé de saisie des données. Puis, nous ajoutons à nos vérifications des processus de nettoyage de données, notamment le système de protection de doublons de rapports et la normalisation des adresses.

Suite à la validation de l’information, cette dernière est saisie dans notre base de données; la base de données commerciales la plus imposante au monde. Puis, cette information est mise à la disposition des entreprises partout dans le monde. On peut l’utiliser d’innombrables façons. En voici quelques exemples :

  • la vérification de l’évaluation de crédit de plus de 107 millions d’entreprises (26 millions aux États-Unis et 1,5 million au Canada);
  • l’élaboration de listes de prospects hautement ciblées;
  • le repérage des ventes de concurrents.
Comment puis-je avoir la certitude que les données que D&B recueille sont actuelles?
Toutes les données que D&B recueille doivent d’abord passer par plusieurs contrôles rigoureux de la qualité. En plus de plus de 2 000 validations de l’information dans notre système personnalisé de saisie des données, nous téléphonons aléatoirement aux entreprises et passons en revue l’information recueillie sur elles. Si vous avez des questions quant à l’information reçue sur une entreprise, un groupe de conseillers enthousiastes examineront cette information gratuitement. Vous n’avez qu’à téléphoner à notre centre de renseignements aux clients en composant le (800) 463-6362 afin d’initier une nouvelle investigation.
Comment puis-je obtenir un numéro D-U-N-S® afin de voir mon entreprise inscrite dans la base de données de D&B?
Vous pouvez obtenir un numéro D-U-N-S en recherchant votre entreprise. Si la raison sociale de votre entreprise apparaît à la page Rechercher des résultats, vous avez déjà un numéro D-U-N-S. Composez le (800) 463-6362 afin de l’obtenir. Si la raison sociale de votre entreprise n’apparaît pas, vous n’avez qu’à cliquer sur le lien pour demander un numéro D-U-N-S à la partie supérieure de la page Rechercher des résultats.
Que puis-je faire si je ne trouve pas l’entreprise que je recherche?
Vous n’avez qu’à communiquer avec D&B au 1.800.INFO.DNB ((800) 463-6362) du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 19 h, heure de l’Est, et l’un de nos représentants du service à la clientèle effectuera la recherche pour vous. Si l’entreprise n’est pas dans notre base de données, nous pouvons faire une investigation sur l’entreprise pour vous tout à fait gratuitement, et le rapport vous sera expédié par courriel.
Quels types d’indicateurs financiers prévisionnels se trouvent dans la base de données de D&B?
Nous offrons trois indicateurs prévisionnels standards : le Score de défaillance financière (FSS), le Score de crédit commercial (CCS) et le Paydex. Ces indicateurs vous permettent de comprendre le risque de défaillance financière, les retards et les délais de paiements. Nous offrons également des services afin de créer des indicateurs prévisionnels d’après les besoins de votre entreprise.
Je ne crois pas avoir une base de données actuelle et complète. Est-ce que D&B peut m’aider à nettoyer mes données?
Oui, D&B offre plusieurs services connexes aux données, et le nettoyage de vos données est l’un deux. Après avoir obtenu votre fichier de données, nous le ferons passer par notre processus DunsRight par lequel nos propres données passent. Ce processus permet d’assurer l’absence d’enregistrements inactifs, en double ou désuets. Nous identifierons, parmi vos clients, ceux qui ne sont plus en affaires et les doublons d’entreprises, afin que vous puissiez faire des économies lors de vos campagnes de marketing coûteuses. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser D&B afin d’ajouter nos données de classe internationale à votre fichier de données.
Est-ce que D&B offre des éléments d’analyse de données et des services de modélisation?
Oui, D&B a une équipe de statisticiens hautement chevronnés qui détiennent des maîtrises et des doctorats. Nous pouvons vous assister dans vos projets d’analyse des ventes, du marketing et des risques. Nous offrons des services aussi simples que l’analyse des données, afin que vous puissiez en tirer le maximum lorsqu’elles sont combinées aux données de D&B. Veuillez vérifier les solutions de données pour plus de détails sur nos services d’analyse et de modélisation.

Facturation
J’ai reçu une facture pour un produit que je n’ai jamais reçu. À qui puis-je téléphoner pour de l’assistance?
Veuillez communiquer directement avec le service à la clientèle de D&B au (800) 463-6362, du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 19 h, heure de l’Est. Un représentant travaillera avec vous pour trouver une solution.
J’ai reçu une facture pour un produit que je n’ai jamais reçu. À qui puis-je téléphoner pour de l’assistance?
Pour des copies des factures, vous pouvez téléphoner au service à la clientèle de D&B au (800) 463-6362.

• (800) 463-6362
  • About Us
  • Our Data Insight
  • Buy a Credit Report Online

Below, you will find answers to our most Frequently Asked Questions. For additional support, please call our Customer Service team at 1-800-463-6362.

FAQs by Subject

D&B Reports
How can I get a copy of my D&B Credit Report?
Business owners and listed principals can access a copy of their D&B business report by contacting D&B Customer Service Centre at (800) 463-6362 or by email at CustomerCareCan@dnb.com, Monday – Friday 8:00am – 7:00pm EST.
How do I get a DUNS® Number or business listing with D&B?
Business owners or registered principals may obtain their DUNS® Number by searching for your company on our homepage under the Search for a Company option. If your company name appears on the Search Results page, you already have a D-U-N-S® Number and can email us at CustomerCareCan@dnb.com or call us at (800) 463-6362 from Monday to Friday 8:00am to 7:00pm EST to obtain it. If your company does not appear on the list, you can register for a DUNS by following the steps in the DUNS Number Registration Process.
Some information in my D&B report is incorrect; how can I get it corrected?
Updates and corrections can be sent to D&B Customer Service by email at CustomerCareCan@dnb.com or by contacting us at (800) 463-6362 from Monday – Friday 8:00am – 7:00pm EST.
What does my rating mean?
Click here for a description and definitions of D&B ratings.
There is a public filing appearing in my report that has been satisfied (or settled or dismissed). How can I get it removed?
Updates and corrections can be sent to D&B by email at CustomerCareCan@dnb.com or by contacting us at (800) 463-6362 from Monday – Friday 8:00am – 7:00pm EST. If the status of the public filing has been settled/dismissed/satisfied, please forward court documentation showing the settlement, dismissal or satisfaction for review to CustomerCareCan@dnb.com.
Someone is reporting me as a slow payer, how can I find out who it is?

D&B only releases the names of its data sources with their prior consent. The vendor retains the right to withhold their identity for a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include:

  • To protect the identity of your suppliers from your competitors.
  • To protect the identity of their customers from their competitors.
  • To ensure that D&B does not benefit from the use their brand.

Based on the industry and the amounts reported, you can generally determine which of your suppliers has provided us the information in question. A copy of your report may be accessed by contacting us at (800) 463-6362 or by email at CustomerCareCan@dnb.com from Monday – Friday 8:00am – 7:00pm EST.

How can I challenge a Payment Experience in my report?
Payment experiences reflect how bills are met in relation to the terms granted. In some instances payment beyond terms can be the result of disputes over merchandise, skipped invoices etc. D&B reports the trade information exactly as it is received from the data source providing information to us. If you believe a payment experience has not been accurately reported an investigation request may be submitted by contacting D&B Customer Service at (800) 463-6362 or by email at CustomerCareCan@dnb.com.
Where does D&B get its data? Is it accurate?
DUNSRight is the data quality process that ensures that you get the most accurate and complete data available.
Where do I find report samples?
Samples of most of our products can be accessed on www.dnbexpress.ca. Upon searching for a company, you will be provided with a list of sample reports.
What is the purpose of these reports? What are they used for?
  1. Business Information Reports are used primarily as commercial credit tools. Business owners and managers look to these reports for vital information they need to determine reasonable assurance of payment from those businesses with which they intend to deal. No prudent business would be willing to ship goods, furnish services or extend credit without such assurance. Business Information Reports are also widely used in marketing to evaluate prospective customers in terms of sales potential; in purchasing to assure that prospective suppliers are established, sound and capable of delivering requested goods and services when promised; and in insurance underwriting to trace claims history, evaluate risks and establish realistic appraisals.
  2. Nobody is willing to conduct business on promises of future payments or future deliveries without some degree of assurance that they are dealing with reputable firms.
Who typically uses the information in these reports?

Manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers, both small and large businesses, and professional services. Just about any organization whose growth and profit depend on solid commercial relations depend on D&B information reports. Here are a few common examples:

  • A supplier has received your first order for the goods or services you need to produce and sell your product. A quick look at your D&B report and the supplier can give the shipping department the go-ahead signal. Without this D&B reference, you could wait weeks for your order while a supplier checks bank records, trade references and makes inquiries about you around the industry.
  • You call the bank for an appointment to talk about a loan. The loan officer looks at your D&B report and can immediately analyze the needs and progress of your business even before you arrive. The same applies when you need any insurance policy, financing or leasing terms on equipment — or even a business credit card.
  • You've been dealing with the same supplier for years. Suddenly an expansion or special job requires you to double or triple the size of your order. An unusual situation in the eyes of your supplier — but one look at your D&B Business Information Report and the assurance is there that you can handle the increase and perhaps even qualify for a volume discount.
What does a rating of 1, 2, 3 or 4 mean?
After reading and analyzing the information contained in the Business Information Report, particularly financial statement information, the rating is issued by a D&B business analyst. The rating is divided into two parts: A letter designation indicates estimated financial strength (usually tangible net worth), and the numerical symbol indicates the so-called composite credit appraisal — ranging from a high of 1 to a “limited" rating of 4. The composite credit appraisal incorporates the manner in which the company meets its obligations, financial condition, proper legal organization, clear identification of ownership, management experience, payments and other factors.
What type of information can be found in a D&B report?

Reports are maintained on hundreds of thousands of businesses and contain the facts most frequently required in making a variety of business decisions. Basically, the report is an analysis of a commercial establishment.

  • DUNS® Number: DUNS stands for Data Universal Numbering System, which is recognized by companies worldwide. This is a unique nine-digit code that identifies a business name and location.
  • Summary: A concise, quick-reference analysis of the detailed information contained in the report. It includes the business' Standard Industrial Classification code (SIC), function, product line, principal executive, D&B Capital and Credit Rating, sales, worth, payments, number of employees, history, financing, condition and trend.
  • Payments: Payment record, high credit, amount owing, amount past due (if any), selling terms and period of time since last sale.
  • Finance: Statement of assets, liabilities, sales, expense and profit, along with any necessary explanation and a description of sales and profit trends (when provided).
  • History: Names, past business experience of principals or owners and the legal structure of the business.
  • Operations: Describes the nature of the business, its premises, products or services, classification of customers, percentage of cash and credit sales, number of accounts, seasonal aspects, number of employees and name of bank.
  • Special events: Any recent changes of chief executive, legal structure, partners, control, location, and any incidents of business discontinuance.
  • Public filings: Identifies any public record filings, such as suits, judgments, and record item updates and releases.
  • D&B Capital and Credit Rating: An indicator of estimated financial strength and composite credit appraisal.
Does D&B have banking information?
The majority of our reports provide general banking information, such as bank names, addresses and telephone numbers.
Why doesn't D&B have more financial statements in its reports?

The only companies that are required to provide financial statements are public and non-profit companies. The majority of businesses in our database are privately held. The business analyst’s job is to demonstrate the benefit of providing information to D&B. In fact, we are the only company that successfully provides financial statements on privately held businesses.

Public companies in our database have current financial statements reported. Our data collectors are required to ask all private organizations for their financial figures when conducting interviews.

How does D&B verify that the principals are giving correct financials? Can’t a company make up its numbers?

The veracity of financials taken as part of a regular investigation on behalf of a subscriber is checked by:

  • Confirming that the accounting firm is a legitimate firm registered with the appropriate registering body
  • Ensuring net worth reconciliation is completed
  • Confirming VGER validation of sales to employees
  • Ensuring that ratings assigned follow the rating rules and regulations
How long is public record and bankruptcy information kept in the report?

Business failures (bankruptcies, proposals, receiverships, etc.) are kept for seven years. This means the company will carry a business or management record until the seven years are over.

Legal items (suits, liens, judgments, etc.) will stay in the report indefinitely or until we receive notification that it has been resolved (settled, dismissed, discontinued, etc.). The details of the resolution could come from the defendant, the plaintiff or directly from the courthouse. The details of the resolution are kept for one year.

On the Business Information Report, what's the difference between the last full revision date and the most recent update date?

The last full revision date is the date on which a full revision (including interviews) of the report was conducted. The most recent update date is the date on which either public record items or new trade has been added to the report. The most recent update may also mean that an interview has been completed in between the regular yearly update.

Data Solutions
How does D&B get its data?

We obtain our information from impartial third-party businesses and government sources. We then supplement it with information from millions of interviews with business owners and managers. Here are just a few of our resources:

  • Business bankruptcies are obtained from Industry Canada via an automated weekly data feed
  • Suits, liens and personal property security agreements are obtained directly from provincial and local court houses
  • Millions of trade experiences (payment information) tells us how individual businesses are paying their bills
  • Daily newspapers, publications, electronic news services and the Internet

We have up to 1,500 data elements on any given company, which gives you a more complete picture of a business. D&B is also the only global business information provider that collects financial statements on both publicly and privately held companies.

What does D&B do with the data it collects?

Before we enter any information into our database, it must first pass a number of quality checks. In fact, there are currently over 2,000 validations in our customized data entry system alone. We then supplement our checks with mainframe data-cleansing processes, like our Duplicate Report Protection System and Address Standardization.

Once the information is validated, it's entered into our database — the largest database of business information in the world. It's then made available to businesses around the globe. The data can be used in a myriad of ways, including:

  • Checking the credit rating of over 107 million companies (26 million in the United States alone and 1.5 million in Canada)
  • Compiling highly targeted lists of prospective customers
  • Tracking competitors' sales
How can I be certain the data D&B collects is up to date?
All data collected by D&B must first pass rigorous quality checks. Aside from our over 2,000 information validations on our customized data entry system, we randomly call companies and review the information we've compiled on their businesses. If you should question the information received about a company, a group of dedicated consultants are available to reinvestigate the information at no charge. Simply call our Customer Information Centre at (800) 463-6362 to initiate a reinvestigation.
How do I get a DUNS® Number so I can be listed in the D&B Database?
You can obtain a DUNS Number by searching for your company. If your company name appears on the Search Results page, you already have a DUNS Number and can call (800) 463-6362 to obtain it. If your company name does not appear, simply click on the link to request a DUNS Number at the top of the Search Results page.
What do I do if I can't find the business I'm looking for?
Simply contact D&B at 1.800.INFO.DNB (800) 463-6362) Monday – Friday from 8:00 a.m. – 7 p.m. EST and one of our customer service representatives will do a search for you. If the company is not in our database, we can investigate the business for you at no extra charge and the report will be emailed to you promptly.
What kind of financial predictors are there in the D&B database?
We offer three standard predictors: Financial Stress Score (FSS), Commercial Credit Score (CCS) and Paydex. These indicators help you understand the risk of financial stress, delinquency and payment delays. We also offer services to statistically create customized predictors based on the needs of your business.
I don’t think I have a clean and complete database. Can D&B help me clean my data?
Yes, D&B offers many data-related services, and cleansing your data is one of them. We will obtain your data file(s) and send it through our DUNSRight process, which our own data goes through. This process ensures that you don’t have inactive, duplicate or out-of-data records. We will identify which of your customers have gone out of business and how many companies are duplicated so that you can save on expensive marketing campaigns. You can also utilize D&B to add our world-class commercial data to your data file.
Does D&B offer data analytics and modeling services?
Yes, we can help you with both sales and marketing and risk analytics projects. We offer services as simple as data analysis to see what your data looks like to regression modeling to enable you to get the most out of your database when combined with D&B data. Please check Data Solutions for further information on our analytics and modeling services.

Billing
I received an invoice for a product I never received, who can I call for help?
Please contact D&B Customer Service directly at (800) 463-6362 Monday – Friday 8:00am – 7:00pm EST. A Representative will work with you to resolve the issues.
How do I get a copy of my invoice?
For copies of invoices you may call D&B Customer Service at (800) 463-6362.